Baby Heart

I have to admit the cardiovascular system is not my favorite topic.  Throughout my residency, we have had several cardiac classes.  When we discuss congenital heart defects and the things that affect my patient population directly my ears perk up, but otherwise I need that grande iced white chocolate mocha to keep my own blood pumping!  Today’s lecture was a bit easier to pay attention to, maybe it’s because our lecturer threw in this video:

 

Although I attribute my knowledge of fetal and adult circulation to my college professors, I’ll have the fond memory of these babies dancing every time someone mentions the ductus arteriosus or the foramen ovale.  On night shift, I sometimes have time to study up on NICU-specific topics.  I started my own “NICU Bible.”  It’s just a plain old marble notebook with information on random questions I encounter on the job.  A nurse at my psych clinical rotation showed me her own “Bible” and it inspired me to make my own.  I finally finished my thermoregulation chapter after a debate between co-workers sparked my interest. It took me a month… I’m thinking my next chapter will be hemodynamics or congenital heart defects.  I’m kind of excited to break out my colored pencils and draw diagrams.  My nerd inside is so excited!

Leave a comment